Skip to main content
    FastestFibre.co.za

    Month-to-Month Fibre Deals

    Fibre with no fixed term, from R279 a month. Pay monthly, give a calendar month's notice - and know what the exit actually costs before you sign.

    See live deals
    Reviewed ·Fastest Fibre editorial team·How we test & rank
    Relaxed young South African on a couch with a laptop, no contract
    The short answer

    The cheapest no-contract fibre line is R279 a month

    MWeb's FibreSuburb Networks 5/5 Mbps at R279 a month is the cheapest genuinely rolling line we track, one of 548 across 43 networks and 6 ISPs. The best value per megabit is a different line entirely — RSAweb's Octotel 2500/2500 Mbps at R1 995, or R0.80/Mbps — and on this page that gap matters more than the sticker price.

    No fixed term is not the same as no cost to leave. 322 of those 548 lines publish a flat cancellation fee anyway, 144 say a fee "may apply" without naming a figure, 69 publish a notice period but no fee, and only 5 state outright that there is none. Everything below is read out of each ISP's own terms and prices, checked 28 September 2026.

    Cheapest rolling line
    R279/mo
    FibreSuburb Networks 5/5 · MWeb
    Best value per Mbps
    R0.80/Mbps
    2500 Mbps at R1 995 · RSAweb
    Median rolling price
    R895/mo
    across 548 lines on 43 networks
    Lines with a stated exit fee
    322 of 548
    R999–R1 500 where published
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, from each ISP's published catalogue and terms. Month-to-month fibre across Webafrica, MWeb, Afrihost, RSAweb, Herotel and Accelerit. Monthly-billed packages only; pre-paid passes are priced per pass, not per month, and are excluded from per-month figures. As of 28 September 2026.
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, from each ISP's published catalogue and terms. Month-to-month fibre across Webafrica, MWeb, Afrihost, RSAweb, Herotel and Accelerit. Monthly-billed packages only; pre-paid passes are priced per pass, not per month, and are excluded from per-month figures. As of 28 September 2026.
    MetricValueDetail
    Cheapest rolling lineR279/moFibreSuburb Networks 5/5 · MWeb
    Best value per MbpsR0.80/Mbps2500 Mbps at R1 995 · RSAweb
    Median rolling priceR895/moacross 548 lines on 43 networks
    Lines with a stated exit fee322 of 548R999–R1 500 where published
    Live Month-to-Month Deals

    Live month-to-month fibre deals

    548 lines that bill monthly with no fixed term, across MWeb, Accelerit, Afrihost, RSAweb, Webafrica, Herotel. The 6 pre-paid passes we track are listed separately further down, because a pass buys a window of service rather than a month and sorting it against monthly prices is what made a R205 fortnightly pass look like the cheapest line on the site. No fixed term is not the same as no cancellation fee - check each row's cancellation note before you sign.

    Prices checked 28 September 2026 · price-per-Mbps shown on every deal

    Showing 548 deals
    5/5 Mbps Uncapped
    FibreSuburb Networks · Symmetrical
    R279pm
    R55.80/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free-to-Use router
    • Free setup worth R1725
    Check Availability
    10/10 Mbps Uncapped
    Accelerit · Symmetrical
    R293pm
    R29.30/Mbps
    Journey Series
    What's free
    • Uncapped, unshaped, unthrottled
    • Month-to-month
    • VoIP add-on available
    Check Availability
    10/5 Mbps Uncapped
    Openserve Web Connect · Asymmetrical
    R307pm
    R30.70/Mbps
    What's free
    • Wi-Fi included
    • Free installation
    Check Availability
    10/5 Mbps Uncapped
    Openserve Web Connect · Asymmetrical
    R315pm
    R31.50/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free-to-use router
    • Free install promo
    Check Availability
    10/5 Mbps Uncapped
    Openserve Web Connect · Asymmetrical
    R319pm
    R31.90/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free-to-Use router
    • Free setup worth R2000
    Check Availability
    5/5 Mbps Uncapped
    Comtel Fibre · Symmetrical
    R337pm
    R67.40/Mbps
    What's free
    • FREE Wi-Fi router
    • Install fee at signup
    Check Availability
    10/10 Mbps Uncapped
    Evotel Pulse · Symmetrical
    R345pm
    R34.50/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free-to-use router
    • Free install promo
    Check Availability
    20/10 Mbps Uncapped
    Fibre Geeks · Asymmetrical
    R449pm
    R349pm
    R17.45/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free-to-Use router
    Check Availability
    20/10 Mbps Uncapped
    Openserve Web Connect · Asymmetrical
    R365pm
    R18.25/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free-to-use router
    • Free install promo
    Check Availability
    20/10 Mbps Uncapped
    Openserve Web Connect · Asymmetrical
    R367pm
    R18.35/Mbps
    What's free
    • Wi-Fi included
    • Free installation
    Check Availability

    Showing 24 of 548 deals · Prices indicative · Sign-up via the listed ISP · Affiliate links may earn us a commission on referrals

    Terms, read off the catalogue

    What month-to-month actually means here

    The Contract cell in the table above is not a house style — it is whatever each catalogue states. Across the 548 rolling rows it prints a single value, "Month-to-Month", because each of these catalogues says so in its own words; the 6 pre-paid passes further down print "14-day pass" or "Pre-paid pass" instead. That distinction is the whole reason the page exists in this shape: "month-to-month" is a marketing phrase on some storefronts and a contractual fact on others, and on the evidence below the difference between the two is a four-figure invoice.

    Two consequences worth stating plainly. First, 133 Vox lines are excluded from the table above, because Vox sells every one of them as "1 / 12 / 24-month" and our catalogue holds a single price for all three terms — putting a Vox row on a no-contract page would assert a term the data cannot support. If a fixed term suits you, the Vox fibre deals page lists them with that label intact. Second, RSAweb's rolling lines are in the table but carry their own caveat: RSAweb's own contract note reads "Choose a 1, 12 or 24-month initial term at signup. Only the 1-month term is genuinely contract-free." — so the rolling price is real, but you have to choose the one-month term at signup to get it. Our own table prints "Month-to-Month" on those 71 rows because RSAweb's catalogue sets no display override, so treat its contract note, quoted below, as the authority rather than our cell.

    What each ISP publishes about its own term · read from the catalogue, checked 28 September 2026
    ISPRolling linesCheapestTerm, in the ISP's words
    MWeb144R279/mo · FibreSuburb Networks 5/5Month-to-month, but cancellation must be requested one calendar month in advance and cancellation or clawback fees may apply.
    Accelerit8R293/mo · Accelerit 10/10No fixed-term contract advertised on this package.
    Afrihost238R307/mo · Openserve Web Connect 10/5All Afrihost fibre is month-to-month - cancel anytime with one calendar month's notice.
    RSAweb71R315/mo · Openserve Web Connect 10/5Choose a 1, 12 or 24-month initial term at signup. Only the 1-month term is genuinely contract-free.
    Webafrica83R379/mo · Comtel Fibre 5/5Month-to-month with one calendar month's notice. Webafrica states a R999 termination fee applies if you cancel at any time - it is not limited to a fixed contract term.
    Herotel4R399/mo · Herotel 20/20Herotel states there are no long-term contracts and no credit checks - you can cancel at any time.

    Herotel and Accelerit are on this page for the first time, and both earn the place first-party. Herotel's FAQ states there are "no long-term contracts and no credit checks"; Accelerit sells its eight packages under a storefront category headed "Premium Month to Month Fibre". Neither is a reseller — both operate the network they sell, which is also why their footprints are narrow. The wider comparison across every ISP, term and network sits on the full compare-fibre-deals catalogue.

    Rolling line versus a 12 or 24-month term

    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, from each ISP's published catalogue and terms. Every figure in the left column is computed from the rolling lines in the table above; the right column reports what the fixed-term catalogues we track actually publish. As of 28 September 2026.
    DimensionMonth-to-month12 or 24-month initial term
    Monthly rateR279–R2 497 across 548 linesNo catalogue we track publishes a different monthly rate for a longer initial term, so the term buys no discount in this pool
    Notice to leaveOne calendar month, stated on 534 of 548 linesNotice plus whatever remains of the term - 133 Vox lines are sold as "1 / 12 / 24-month"
    Cost of leaving earlyR999–R1 500 on the 322 lines that publish a figureNot published: no catalogue we track states an early-termination formula for its fixed-term option
    Promotional rate26% of rolling lines carry one, running 2, 3 or 4 months before it revertsSame promotions, same reversion - a term does not extend the promo
    RouterFree-to-use on most lines and the ISP's property - it goes back when you leaveSame hardware, same return condition
    Who it suitsRenters, students, anyone moving inside a year, anyone testing a networkNobody in this pool on price alone - only where an ISP outside it prices a term lower
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, from each ISP's published catalogue and terms. Every figure in the left column is computed from the rolling lines in the table above; the right column reports what the fixed-term catalogues we track actually publish. As of 28 September 2026.

    The first row is the finding most readers do not expect. In this pool a longer term buys no discount: not one catalogue we track publishes a lower monthly rate for 12 or 24 months than for one. RSAweb's own note says the choice of term sits alongside a single published price, and Vox's works the same way. Where a term-priced line genuinely does cost less — RSAweb's own-branded FTTH range prices some tiers differently by term — the rate is not in our pool, and we do not quote a number we cannot check. So the honest framing is not "pay more for flexibility". It is: the flexibility is usually free, and what you are choosing is who carries the risk if you move.

    The exit

    What it costs to leave

    This is the number a no-contract page is actually for, and it is the one the category gets wrong most often. Of the 548 rolling lines above, 322 publish a flat cancellation or clawback figure, 144 state that a fee may apply without naming one, 69 publish notice terms without naming a fee, 5 state that there is no cancellation fee, and 8 publish no cancellation terms at all. Those last two are not the same thing, and this page does not merge them. Where a figure is published it is R999 or R1 500. The dearest of those, R1 500, is 1.7 months of the median rolling line's R895 bill — paid for the privilege of not having signed a contract.

    Published cancellation fee on a month-to-month fibre line, by ISPMWebFee possible, amount not publishedAcceleritNo cancellation terms publishedAfrihostR999Stated, inside the first 6 monthsRSAwebNo cancellation fee publishedWebafricaR999Stated, at any timeHerotelR1 500Stated, inside the first 12 months
    Source: Each ISP's own published terms, as recorded in the catalogue. Cancellation or clawback fee published by each ISP for a rolling line, with an explicit gap where the terms name no figure. A dashed bar is a fee that is not disclosed as an amount, never an estimate. As of 28 September 2026.
    NetworkFeeStatus
    MWebNot disclosedFee possible, amount not published
    AcceleritNot disclosedNo cancellation terms published
    AfrihostR999Stated, inside the first 6 months
    RSAwebNot disclosedNo cancellation fee published
    WebafricaR999Stated, at any time
    HerotelR1 500Stated, inside the first 12 months
    Source: Each ISP's own published terms, as recorded in the catalogue. Cancellation or clawback fee published by each ISP for a rolling line, with an explicit gap where the terms name no figure. A dashed bar is a fee that is not disclosed as an amount, never an estimate. As of 28 September 2026.
    Exit terms in each ISP's own words · checked 28 September 2026
    ISPPublished exit costWhen it bitesThe wording, verbatim
    MWebNot published as a figureFee possible, amount not publishedMonth-to-month, but cancellation must be requested one calendar month in advance and cancellation or clawback fees may apply.
    AcceleritNot published as a figureNo cancellation terms publishedNothing published about cancellation charges
    AfrihostR999inside the first 6 monthsR999 cancellation fee applies if cancelled within 6 months of activation, or if your account falls into arrears (excludes Vuma Reach).
    RSAwebNot published as a figureNo cancellation fee publishedOne calendar month's notice (1st to last day of the month), or at least 20 business days' written notice before an initial term expires.
    WebafricaR999at any timeMonth-to-month with one calendar month's notice. Webafrica states a R999 termination fee applies if you cancel at any time - it is not limited to a fixed contract term.
    HerotelR1 500inside the first 12 monthsCancelling inside the first 12 months triggers a flat R1 500 clawback. After 12 months there is no cancellation charge.

    Three things in that table deserve calling out, because each one costs money in a different direction. Webafrica's fee is the only one that is not time-limited — its own wording says the termination fee applies if you cancel at any time, so a rolling Webafrica line never ages out of it. Afrihost's is the opposite shape: a flat fee inside the first six months and nothing after, with its Vuma Reach lines excluded from the fee entirely, which is why 3 Afrihost rows sit outside its dominant term. And MWeb's is the hardest to budget for: the terms say cancellation or clawback fees may apply and never say how much, so a reader cannot price the exit before committing to it. An unquantified fee is not a small fee — it is an unknown one.

    If leaving cleanly is the whole point of the purchase, the cheapest line whose own terms state outright that there is no cancellation fee is RSAweb's Octotel 20/10 Mbps at R399 on Octotel — R19.95/Mbps, and only 5 lines in the whole pool qualify. Read the footprint note on the row first: these are sold in a short list of named suburbs rather than nationally, and a fee-free line you cannot install is worth nothing. The 8 lines that publish no cancellation terms at all are a different proposition - silence is not a waiver, and it is the one thing on this page worth getting in writing before you order.

    Worked examples

    The 12 and 24-month bill

    A rolling line's advertised price is rarely what you pay in year one. Two things move it: a promotional rate that reverts, and once-off fees on the first invoice. 26% of the 548 lines above carry a promotion, and the ones that do state how long it runs — 2, 3 or 4 months, read from each product's own note. So the totals here run the promo months at the promo rate and every month after that at the standing rate, which is what actually lands on the invoice.

    Cheapest rolling line on each ISP, totalled over 12 and 24 months · prices checked 28 September 2026
    ISP · cheapest rolling lineNowStanding rate12 months24 monthsOnce-off stated
    MWeb · FibreSuburb Networks 5/5R279/moR279/moR3 348R6 696R249
    Accelerit · Accelerit 10/10R293/moR293/moR3 516R7 032R49
    Afrihost · Openserve Web Connect 10/5R307/moR307/moR3 684R7 368Nothing - install stated free
    RSAweb · Openserve Web Connect 10/5R315/moR315/moR3 780R7 5601 fee stated without a figure
    Webafrica · Comtel Fibre 5/5R379/moR379/moR4 548R9 096R499 + R249
    Herotel · Herotel 20/20R399/moR399/moR4 788R9 576R199

    The last column is where the gaps are, and they are deliberate. Webafrica's own product data lists a once-off processing fee on every package plus a separate set-up fee on some network families, so both are counted. MWeb states one order-processing fee. Herotel's sign-up runs through a starter pack. Accelerit charges a once-off activation fee. RSAweb's setup wording — "R999 processing fee or the actual FNO installation cost, whichever is greater. Free install/connection is promoted on many packages - confirm at checkout. Extra trenching beyond the standard run is R180-R220 per metre." — is not a flat figure at all, and Afrihost states that the installation fee for some networks is paid at signup without publishing the amount. Neither is guessed here. A once-off fee that the operator does not publish is shown as not published, because an invented install fee is worse than an acknowledged gap.

    The promo cliff, where one applies

    None of the six cheapest lines above is on a promotional rate, which is why that table's first two columns match. The promotions sit further up the range, and they are worth understanding before you buy one: the discount is real, it is short, and the standing rate is what you live with. Here is the deepest discount currently running on each ISP that has any, with the month the bill changes.

    Deepest promotional discount per ISP, and what happens when it ends · checked 28 September 2026
    ISP · linePromo rateRuns forThenYear one, promo-awareYear one at the standing ratePromo is worth
    MWeb · Openserve 1000/500R1 599/mo3 monthsR1 749/moR20 538R20 988R450
    Webafrica · Vumatel 30/30R419/mo2 monthsR519/moR6 028R6 228R200

    Two things follow. Over year one these promotions are worth R200-R450 once, not a lower price — so choosing between two lines on their promotional rates is choosing on the wrong number, and the deal table shows the standing rate struck through for exactly that reason. And on a rolling line the promo creates its own small trap: the notice month is billed at the standing rate, so cancelling in the month after a promo ends costs more than any month you have paid so far.

    Note that the network-by-network block below totals only at the standing rate. That block is shared with pages whose catalogues publish no promo length, so it is deliberately conservative; the totals in the table above are promo-aware because these two catalogues do publish theirs.

    The part a contract would change: leaving at month six

    Twelve and twenty-four month totals answer "what if I stay". The reason to buy a rolling line is "what if I don't". Here is the same cheapest line on each ISP, cancelled after six months, with the notice month and the published exit fee added — against the maximum a fixed term could expose you to over the remaining eighteen months of a 24-month deal.

    Cost of getting out after six months, rolling versus a 24-month term
    ISP · cheapest rolling line6 months + noticePublished exit feeTotal to walk away24-month term: maximum remaining exposure
    MWeb · FibreSuburb Networks 5/5R1 953Fee possible, amount not publishedR1 953 + unknownR5 022 (18 months at R279)
    Accelerit · Accelerit 10/10R2 051No cancellation terms publishedR2 051 + unknownR5 274 (18 months at R293)
    Afrihost · Openserve Web Connect 10/5R2 149R999R3 148R5 526 (18 months at R307)
    RSAweb · Openserve Web Connect 10/5R2 205No cancellation fee publishedR2 205 + unknownR5 670 (18 months at R315)
    Webafrica · Comtel Fibre 5/5R2 653R999R3 652R6 822 (18 months at R379)
    Herotel · Herotel 20/20R2 793R1 500R4 293R7 182 (18 months at R399)

    The last column is an upper bound, not a quoted fee: no catalogue we track publishes an early-termination formula for its fixed-term option, so the honest figure is "up to the rest of the term" and nothing narrower. That asymmetry is the case for a rolling line in one sentence — the worst rolling exit in this pool is R1 500 on top of the notice month, while eighteen unused months of the dearest line in the table would be R44 946 — and no catalogue here tells you how much of that an operator would actually claim. If you are weighing the cheapest possible monthly price against this flexibility, the cheapest fibre deals page ranks the same catalogues on sticker price alone.

    Check what a rolling line costs at your address

    Fibre pricing is national and coverage is street-level, so the only figure that matters is the one for a network that actually reaches your wall. A coverage check returns the live rolling packages for your address in a minute.

    Check coverage and rolling prices
    The numbers

    What rolling fibre costs per network

    There are 548 rolling plans in the table above, spread across 43 fibre networks. They are not interchangeable: the cheapest way onto FibreSuburb Networks is R279 a month, while the same question on Cybersmart starts at R799. Which networks reach your address is usually decided for you, so the useful comparison is within a network rather than across the whole list.

    Cheapest line per network · prices checked 28 September 2026
    NetworkRolling plansCheapestSpeedBest R/Mbps, any plan
    FibreSuburb Networks11R279/mo5/5 MbpsR5.29
    Accelerit8R293/mo10/10 MbpsR7.53
    Openserve Web Connect9R307/mo10/5 MbpsR10.68
    Comtel Fibre22R337/mo5/5 MbpsR1.34
    Evotel Pulse2R345/mo10/10 MbpsR19.75
    Fibre Geeks31R349/mo20/10 MbpsR2.40
    Metro Nexus28R379/mo30/30 MbpsR1.24
    Octotel31R399/mo25/25 MbpsR0.80
    Herotel4R399/mo20/20 MbpsR5.25
    Vuma Reach9R417/mo20/10 MbpsR7.99
    MTN Fibre12R417/mo10/10 MbpsR1.66
    Vumatel34R419/mo30/30 MbpsR1.21
    31 smaller networks347from R439/movarioussee table above

    The last column is the best rand-per-Mbps available anywhere on that network, at any speed — not the unit price of the cheapest line beside it. The two are rarely close, and the gap is the argument against buying on headline price. The entry tier in this segment is R279 for 5 Mbps on FibreSuburb Networks, which is R55.80 per Mbps; the best unit price in the whole segment is R0.80 per Mbps. Paying a little more for a much faster line is usually the better deal; paying the minimum almost never is.

    What the cheapest line actually costs over one and two years, before once-off fees
    Monthly12 months24 months
    Advertised rateR279/moR3 348R6 696
    What you actually payR279/mo avgR3 348R6 696

    No promotional rate applies to this line, so the advertised price is what you pay from day one — there is no step-up a few months in. Neither total includes installation or a router, because no per-package once-off figure is published for this line — most lines in this segment bundle both, and the deal cards above list what each one includes. Cancellation terms are the other cost that does not appear in a monthly price: no fixed term is not the same as no cancellation fee, and several ISPs here claw back a waived install if you leave inside six or twelve months.

    Looking wider than this segment? Compare every fibre deal we track puts the full catalogue in one sortable table, and the cheapest fibre deals ranks the whole market on price and rand-per-Mbps rather than within one network.

    Picks

    Best value rolling line on each ISP

    One pick per ISP — the best rand-per-megabit rolling line at or below the median R895, ranked on the standing rate rather than the promotional one so a two-month discount cannot buy the top spot. Not the cheapest line on each ISP, because the cheapest line is almost never the best buy. Each card carries the exit cost that ISP publishes, since that is the part the storefront does not show you.

    Cybersmart
    R799
    R0.80/Mbps
    1000 / 1000 Mbps
    Cybersmart · via MWeb · Month-to-Month
    Cost to leave
    Fee possible, amount not published
    Once-off
    R249
    12 months
    R9 588
    Check Cybersmart availability
    Metro Nexus logo
    R899
    R799
    R1.60/Mbps
    500 / 500 Mbps
    Metro Nexus · via Webafrica · Month-to-Month · promo for 2 months, then R899
    Cost to leave
    R999 at any time
    Once-off
    R249
    12 months
    R10 588
    Check Metro Nexus availability
    Octotel logo
    R895
    R2.98/Mbps
    300 / 200 Mbps
    Octotel · via RSAweb · Month-to-Month
    Cost to leave
    No cancellation fee published
    Once-off
    1 fee stated without a figure
    12 months
    R10 740
    Check Octotel availability
    Herotel
    R799
    R6.66/Mbps
    120 / 120 Mbps
    Herotel · Month-to-Month
    Cost to leave
    R1 500 inside the first 12 months
    Once-off
    R199
    12 months
    R9 588
    Check Herotel availability
    Mitsol logo
    R827
    R6.89/Mbps
    120 / 60 Mbps
    Mitsol · via Afrihost · Month-to-Month
    Cost to leave
    R999 inside the first 6 months
    Once-off
    R249 + 1 fee stated without a figure
    12 months
    R9 924
    Check Mitsol availability
    Accelerit
    R753
    R7.53/Mbps
    100 / 100 Mbps
    Accelerit · Month-to-Month
    Cost to leave
    No cancellation terms published
    Once-off
    R49
    12 months
    R9 036
    Check Accelerit availability

    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, from each ISP's published catalogue and terms. Best rand-per-megabit rolling line per ISP at or below the median rolling price of R895, ranked on the standing rate. Prices checked 28 September 2026. Monthly-billed packages only; pre-paid passes are priced per pass, not per month, and are excluded from per-month figures.

    Value

    Rand per megabit, not rand per month

    Divide the monthly price by the download speed and the ranking of this table changes completely. The cheapest rolling line, MWeb's FibreSuburb Networks 5/5 Mbps at R279, works out at R55.80/Mbps. The best value per megabit, RSAweb's Octotel 2500/2500 Mbps at R1 995, is R0.80/Mbps — 69.9x better per megabit for 2500 Mbps instead of 5. That is the arithmetic working as designed and also its weakness: rand per megabit always crowns the fastest line in the pool, and R1 995 a month is not an alternative to R279.

    So here is the same metric with a ceiling the data sets itself — the median rolling price of R895. Under it, the best rand-per-megabit rolling line is MWeb's Cybersmart 1000/1000 Mbps at R799 — R0.80/Mbps for 1000 Mbps, against R55.80/Mbps on the cheapest line. Paying R520 more a month buys 995 Mbps more download. On a rolling line that trade is easier to make than on a contract, because if the faster line disappoints you are one calendar month from being out of it.

    Best rand-per-Mbps month-to-month fibre lines in South AfricaOctotel 2500/2500 · RSAwebR0.80/MbpsR1 995 · 2500 MbpsCybersmart 1000/1000 · MWebR0.80/MbpsR799 · 1000 MbpsVumatel 1000/250 · WebafricaR1.21/MbpsR1 209 · 1000 MbpsMetro Nexus 1000/500 · WebafricaR1.24/MbpsR1 239 · 1000 MbpsUnifybr On High 1000/200 · AfrihostR1.30/MbpsR1 297 · 1000 MbpsZoom Fibre 1000/500 · WebafricaR1.32/MbpsR1 319 · 1000 Mbps
    Best rand-per-Mbps month-to-month fibre lines in South Africa
    PackageMonthly priceDownloadPrice per Mbps
    Octotel 2500/2500 · RSAwebBest valueR1 9952500 MbpsR0.80
    Cybersmart 1000/1000 · MWebR7991000 MbpsR0.80
    Vumatel 1000/250 · WebafricaR1 2091000 MbpsR1.21
    Metro Nexus 1000/500 · WebafricaR1 2391000 MbpsR1.24
    Unifybr On High 1000/200 · AfrihostR1 2971000 MbpsR1.30
    Zoom Fibre 1000/500 · WebafricaR1 3191000 MbpsR1.32
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, computed from each ISP's published catalogue. The six best rand-per-megabit rolling lines in the table above. Monthly-billed packages only; pre-paid passes are priced per pass, not per month, and are excluded from per-month figures. Lower price per Mbps = better value; the highlighted row is the cheapest R/Mbps in this comparison. As of 28 September 2026.

    Promotional rates distort this chart in one direction only: a promo lowers the numerator for 2, 3 or 4 months and then stops. Where a bar above sits on a promotional price, the line's standing rand-per-megabit is higher, and the deal table shows both figures on the row. The same ranking across every line we track, rolling or not, is on the best fibre deals page; if the data allowance rather than the term is your constraint, the uncapped fibre deals page filters for that instead.

    Median rand-per-megabit by ISP on rolling lines · checked 28 September 2026
    ISPRolling linesMedian R/MbpsBest R/Mbps lineOn promotion
    MWeb144R7.89Cybersmart 1000/1000 · MWeb at R0.80/Mbps118 of 144
    Accelerit8R12.16Accelerit 100/100 · Accelerit at R7.53/Mbps0 of 8
    Afrihost238R8.87Unifybr On High 1000/200 · Afrihost at R1.30/Mbps0 of 238
    RSAweb71R9.75Octotel 2500/2500 · RSAweb at R0.80/Mbps0 of 71
    Webafrica83R7.99Vumatel 1000/250 · Webafrica at R1.21/Mbps22 of 83
    Herotel4R8.57Herotel 200/200 · Herotel at R5.25/Mbps0 of 4

    A median is the useful number here rather than a best case, because the best case on a big catalogue is usually one unusual package. Read it as "what a typical line on this ISP costs per megabit" and the ISPs with the widest catalogues are not automatically the best value. Service quality is a separate axis again, and one this page does not measure — that is what the best fibre ISP comparison is for.

    Speed

    The cheapest rolling line on every tier

    Month-to-month does not mean entry-level. Rolling lines exist on every rung of the ladder we track, and the cheapest one on each rung is worth knowing before you settle for the cheapest one overall — the jump from one tier to the next often costs less than the difference in the headline price suggests.

    Month-to-month fibre speed tiers and the cheapest live price on each tier5/5 MbpsSymmetricalfrom R27930/30 MbpsSymmetricalfrom R37960/30 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R599100/50 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R739200/50 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R849500/500 MbpsSymmetricalfrom R7492500/2500 MbpsSymmetricalfrom R1 995
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking. Cheapest verified monthly price on each Month-to-month fibre speed tier we track. As of 28 September 2026.
    Month-to-month fibre speed tiers and the cheapest live price on each tier
    SpeedLine typeNetworkCheapest ISPFromR/Mbps
    5/5 MbpsSymmetricalFibreSuburb NetworksMwebR279R55.80
    30/30 MbpsSymmetricalMetro NexusMwebR379R12.63
    60/30 MbpsAsymmetricalFrogfootWebafricaR599R9.98
    100/50 MbpsAsymmetricalVumatelMwebR739R7.39
    200/50 MbpsAsymmetricalFibre GeeksMwebR849R4.25
    500/500 MbpsSymmetricalMetro NexusMwebR749R1.50
    2500/2500 MbpsSymmetricalOctotelRSAwebR1 995R0.80

    Rung by rung, the cheapest rolling line we track and the page that ranks that whole tier:

    • 10 Mbps fibre deals — cheapest rolling line Accelerit's Accelerit 10/10 Mbps at R293, R29.30/Mbps; cost to leave: No cancellation terms published
    • 20 Mbps fibre deals — cheapest rolling line MWeb's Fibre Geeks 20/10 Mbps at R349, R17.45/Mbps; cost to leave: Fee possible, amount not published
    • 40 Mbps fibre deals — cheapest rolling line Afrihost's Openserve Web Connect 40/20 Mbps at R427, R10.68/Mbps; cost to leave: R999 inside the first 6 months
    • 100 Mbps fibre deals — cheapest rolling line MWeb's Vumatel 100/50 Mbps at R739, R7.39/Mbps; cost to leave: Fee possible, amount not published
    • 200 Mbps fibre deals — cheapest rolling line MWeb's Fibre Geeks 200/50 Mbps at R849, R4.25/Mbps; cost to leave: Fee possible, amount not published
    • 500 Mbps fibre deals — cheapest rolling line MWeb's Metro Nexus 500/500 Mbps at R749, R1.50/Mbps; cost to leave: Fee possible, amount not published
    • 1 Gbps fibre deals — cheapest rolling line MWeb's Cybersmart 1000/1000 Mbps at R799, R0.80/Mbps; cost to leave: Fee possible, amount not published

    Those tier pages rank every line on the rung, contracted and rolling together, so use them to check whether a term-priced competitor undercuts the rolling line you are looking at. On the evidence in this pool it usually does not.

    Upload

    Which networks give you matched upload

    Upload is the specification that decides whether a line survives a working day, and it varies far more by network than by price. Across the rolling lines above, 364 of 548 are fully symmetrical. On a rolling line this is a cheap thing to get wrong and a cheap thing to fix: one calendar month's notice and you are on a different network.

    Share of month-to-month fibre lines that are symmetrical, by networkOpenserve41% (17/41)Frogfoot50% (20/40)Vumatel47% (16/34)Fibre Geeks45% (14/31)Octotel42% (13/31)Metro Nexus89% (25/28)Comtel Fibre100% (22/22)Link Layer100% (19/19)Lightstruck63% (12/19)Evotel100% (17/17)
    Share of rolling lines that upload at download speed, on the ten networks with the most month-to-month packages in the table above. Checked 28 September 2026.
    NetworkLive dealsSymmetrical% symmetricalMedian upload:download
    Openserve411741%0.50:1
    Frogfoot402050%0.75:1
    Vumatel341647%0.50:1
    Fibre Geeks311445%0.50:1
    Octotel311342%0.67:1
    Metro Nexus282589%1.00:1
    Comtel Fibre2222100%1.00:1
    Link Layer1919100%1.00:1
    Lightstruck191263%1.00:1
    Evotel1717100%1.00:1
    Share of rolling lines that upload at download speed, on the ten networks with the most month-to-month packages in the table above. Checked 28 September 2026. Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, computed from each ISP's published catalogue.

    The pattern is operator policy, not price: networks that sell symmetry sell it across the range, and networks that do not, do not sell it at any price. If two people in the house are on video calls at once, filter the table above for symmetrical lines before you filter for price — and note that the cheapest symmetrical rolling line and the cheapest rolling line are rarely the same product.

    Pre-paid

    Passes are on-topic and not month-to-month

    A pre-paid pass is the closest thing to a no-commitment fibre line: you buy a window of service up front and it stops. That makes the 6 passes we track highly relevant to anyone who wants out at any moment — and completely unsuited to the arithmetic on the rest of this page. A pass's price buys a pass, not a month, so it appears in no median, no cheapest line and no rand-per-megabit figure here.

    Pre-paid fibre passes we track · checked 28 September 2026
    PassPrice per passPublished validityMonthly equivalentContract cell
    Openserve Web Connect 20/10 · RSAwebR20514 daysR14.64/day, so about R439 per 30 days14-day pass
    Openserve 50/25 · RSAwebR445Not publishedCannot be derived - no window publishedPre-paid pass
    Vuma Reach 10/10 · RSAwebR275Not publishedCannot be derived - no window publishedPre-paid pass
    Vuma Reach 20/10 · RSAwebR415Not publishedCannot be derived - no window publishedPre-paid pass
    Vuma Reach 40/10 · RSAwebR535Not publishedCannot be derived - no window publishedPre-paid pass
    Vuma Reach 100/50 · RSAwebR847Not publishedCannot be derived - no window publishedPre-paid pass

    Only one pass publishes a validity window, and it is the only one with an honest monthly comparison: RSAweb's Openserve Web Connect 20/10 pass costs R205 for 14 days, which is R14.64 a day, or about R439 over thirty days. That is arithmetic on a published window, not a price anybody advertises — two passes buy 28 days, not a calendar month, and the gap between those two things is where the reader gets caught. The other 5 passes state no window anywhere we can verify, so no monthly equivalent is derived for them at all. That is a gap in the operator's disclosure, and filling it with an assumed 30 days would make the cheapest of them look like a bargain against lines it cannot be compared to.

    The practical differences are hardware and lapse behaviour. The Openserve passes run over a Wi-Fi-enabled ONT — 2.4GHz only, with no Ethernet port — so a wired setup is out, and a pass not recharged within 14 days of expiry is cancelled and needs a fresh order to reconnect. Detail on the networks behind them sits on the Vuma Reach page and the Openserve deals page.

    The exit, step by step

    How you actually cancel

    The mechanics are where a month-to-month line stops being simple. Notice runs in calendar months on 534 of the 548 lines above, which means the day you give notice usually decides whether you pay for one more month or two.

    1. Any month
      Decide before the 1st

      Notice runs in calendar months on 534 of the 548 lines here, so notice given mid-month usually starts counting from the 1st of the next one.

    2. Day 0
      Put the cancellation in writing

      RSAweb's terms require written notice, and MWeb's require the request a calendar month in advance. A request with no paper trail is the hardest thing to argue about on a final invoice.

    3. Notice month
      You pay the notice month in full

      Budget one more full invoice at the standing rate. On the cheapest line here that is R279; on the median line it is R895.

    4. Within 10 days
      Send the router back

      Free-to-use routers stay the ISP's property. RSAweb charges the router's retail value if it is not returned in original condition within 10 days; MWeb wants it in its original packaging.

    5. Final invoice
      The exit fee, where one applies

      322 of the 548 lines here publish a flat figure (R999 or R1 500); 144 say a fee "may apply" without naming one.

    Cancelling a month-to-month fibre line, assembled from the notice, router-return and cancellation terms published by the 6 ISPs in the table above. Prices checked 28 September 2026.
    Cancelling a month-to-month fibre line, assembled from the notice, router-return and cancellation terms published by the 6 ISPs in the table above. Prices checked 28 September 2026.
    TimingStepWhat happens
    Any monthDecide before the 1stNotice runs in calendar months on 534 of the 548 lines here, so notice given mid-month usually starts counting from the 1st of the next one.
    Day 0Put the cancellation in writingRSAweb's terms require written notice, and MWeb's require the request a calendar month in advance. A request with no paper trail is the hardest thing to argue about on a final invoice.
    Notice monthYou pay the notice month in fullBudget one more full invoice at the standing rate. On the cheapest line here that is R279; on the median line it is R895.
    Within 10 daysSend the router backFree-to-use routers stay the ISP's property. RSAweb charges the router's retail value if it is not returned in original condition within 10 days; MWeb wants it in its original packaging.
    Final invoiceThe exit fee, where one applies322 of the 548 lines here publish a flat figure (R999 or R1 500); 144 say a fee "may apply" without naming one.

    Two of those steps are where money leaks. The notice month is payable at the standing rate, not the promotional one, so a line you took on a promo can cost more to leave in month four than it cost in month one. And the router is the ISP's property on almost every line here — RSAweb charges its retail value if it is not back in original condition within ten days, MWeb wants the original packaging, and Webafrica caps free replacements at two occasions. Keep the box.

    Decide

    Should you take a rolling line?

    Four questions settle it in most households. The answers below are the ones this page's data supports, not general advice.

    Rolling line, fixed term, or pre-paid pass?

    Worked against the 548 rolling lines and 6 pre-paid passes on this page, checked 28 September 2026.

    1. Q1

      Might you move, or leave the country, inside a year?

    2. Q2

      Do you need the line for weeks rather than months?

      • Weeks → A pre-paid pass - R205 for 14 days on Openserve Web Connect, and nothing to cancel
      • Months → A rolling line - a pass costs more per day and its hardware is more limited
    3. Q4

      Is the lowest possible monthly bill the only thing that matters?

    The honest verdict

    Who should look elsewhere

    Month-to-month is the right default for most South African households, and this page would be less useful if it pretended it was right for everyone. Four readers should not buy from the table above.

    Who a rolling line is the wrong purchase for
    If this is youBuy insteadWhy
    You want a bundled handset, DStv package or voice planA fixed-term retail bundle from a mobile-network ISPNone of the catalogues on this page bundle hardware beyond a free-to-use router. Bundles are priced on a term and are not comparable line for line.
    Your ISP quoted you a lower rate for signing 24 monthsThat quote, after checking it against this tableNo catalogue we track prices a term lower than rolling, so a term discount is worth having - it just is not in this pool. Verify it is a lower recurring rate and not a first-months promotion, which 26% of rolling lines already carry.
    You will definitely be at this address for years and hate adminEither - but read the exit terms anywayA rolling line costs the same monthly, and at least one ISP here charges R999 to terminate at any time, so "rolling" does not guarantee a free exit even years in.
    You need the line for a fortnightA pre-paid pass, not a rolling lineA rolling line's notice month means a one-month need costs two months. Openserve Web Connect's 14-day pass at R205 has nothing to cancel.

    There is a fifth case this page cannot settle for you, and it is worth naming: if the only rolling line at your address is on a network with a poor service record, a cheaper monthly rate is not the deciding factor. Coverage is street-level, so most readers are choosing between two or three networks rather than 43, and at that point reliability beats a small monthly difference. Our ISP scoring sits on the best fibre ISP in South Africa page, and the full cross-term catalogue — rolling, fixed and everything between — is on compare fibre deals.

    Still the right fit? Check the line at your address

    Rolling prices are national; the networks that reach your street are not. Run the address check, then compare the shortlist it returns against the exit costs above.

    See rolling deals at my address
    FAQ

    Month-to-month questions

    Month-to-month fibre - also called rolling, no-contract or flexible fibre - bills one month at a time with no fixed initial term. One calendar month's notice is the standard, stated on 534 of the 548 rolling lines in the table above. It does not mean free to leave: 322 of those lines publish a flat exit fee anyway.

    Not in this pool. No catalogue we track prices a longer initial term lower than a rolling one, so the "contract discount" most readers expect does not exist on these lines - what a term changes is your right to leave, not the monthly rate. Where year-one costs differ, it is promotions doing the work: 26% of the 548 rolling lines carry a promotional rate that reverts after 2, 3 or 4 months, and the table shows both the promo price and the standard price it reverts to.

    On 322 of the 548 lines here, yes - and the wording differs by ISP rather than by network. Afrihost: R999 inside the first 6 months; Webafrica: R999 at any time; Herotel: R1 500 inside the first 12 months. MWeb: fee possible, amount not published; Accelerit: no cancellation terms published; RSAweb: no cancellation fee published. Read the cancellation note on the row itself before you sign - every row in the table carries its ISP's own wording.

    Only 5 of the 548 lines here state outright that there is no cancellation fee, and the cheapest of them is RSAweb's Octotel 20/10 Mbps at R399. Read that as a short list, not a category: another 69 lines publish a notice period without naming a fee and 8 publish no cancellation terms at all, which is an absence of disclosure rather than a promise. Check the footprint too - several of the fee-free lines are sold in a handful of named suburbs.

    None of the catalogues in this table publish an upgrade or downgrade policy, so this page does not claim one. Ask before you sign if you expect to change speed - what is published is the term and the notice period, not the mid-service change rules.

    It is available on 43 of the networks we track, from 6 ISPs. Coverage is decided street by street, so the practical question is not which networks sell rolling lines but which of them reach your address - the cheapest rolling line you can actually install is the only one that counts.

    No, and mixing them up is expensive. A pass buys a fixed window of service up front and then stops; a rolling line bills monthly until you cancel. 6 passes are tabled separately on this page and every per-month figure here excludes them, because 5 of them publish no validity window at all - there is no honest denominator to turn their price into a monthly rate.

    Month-to-month line versus pre-paid pass

    The comparison readers get wrong most often, since both are sold as no-commitment fibre.

    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, from each ISP's published catalogue and terms. Computed from the rolling lines in the deal table and the pre-paid passes tabled above, plus each product's published terms. As of 28 September 2026.
    DimensionMonth-to-month linePre-paid pass
    What the price buysOne month of service, billed monthly until you give noticeOne pass over its validity window, then the service stops
    Published validityCalendar month1 of 6 passes publishes a window at all
    Cheapest entryR279 for 5/5 MbpsR205 per 14-day pass for 20/10 Mbps
    Comparable on rand per MbpsYes - the denominator is a month on every lineNo - there is no month to divide by, so every per-month figure on this page excludes passes
    If you stop payingYou still owe the notice monthService lapses, and a pass not recharged inside 14 days is cancelled and needs a new order
    HardwareFree-to-use Wi-Fi router on most linesWi-Fi built into the ONT on the Openserve passes - 2.4GHz only, no Ethernet port
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, from each ISP's published catalogue and terms. Computed from the rolling lines in the deal table and the pre-paid passes tabled above, plus each product's published terms. As of 28 September 2026.

    Get fibre you can cancel

    548 rolling lines from R279 a month across 43 networks, with the notice period and the exit cost of each one read off its ISP's own terms. Check the cancellation line before you sign — it is the number storefronts bury.

    Or see the best fibre deals overall, rolling and contracted together

    Disclaimer: FastestFibre.co.za is an independent comparison and information service. We do not own any fibre network, and we do not sell internet packages directly. Pricing, speeds and availability shown on this site are indicative and may change without notice; final pricing, terms and contractual obligations are set by the individual ISPs and fibre network operators.

    Some outbound links on this site are affiliate links. If you sign up via one of these links we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects which packages we review, recommend or rank. Reviews and editorial content are written independently. For corrections or feedback, contact us via the social channels above.

    © 2026 FastestFibre.co.za - All rights reserved.
    Month-to-month fibre - no contractSee deals