
Herotel Fibre & Wireless
Herotel is a closed-access fibre and wireless ISP built for South African towns and rural communities - uncapped HeroFibre from R399/month for 20/10 Mbps, HeroPrepaid vouchers, HeroWireless for off-fibre areas and HeroVoice landline replacement. Budget R199 once-off for the starter pack that covers installation.

Live Herotel Fibre Deals
Verified Herotel uncapped fibre packages. Note: Herotel is a closed network sold direct - third-party ISP resale is limited.
Prices checked 12 October 2026 · price-per-Mbps shown on every deal
- Free-to-use router
- No contract
- Uncapped
- Local SA support
- Free-to-use router
- No contract
- Uncapped
- Local SA support
- Prime Video Mobile Edition
- Free-to-use router
- No contract
- Uncapped
- Local SA support
- Prime Video Mobile Edition
- Free-to-use router
- No contract
- Uncapped
- Local SA support
- Prime Video Mobile Edition
20/10 Mbps Uncapped
60/60 Mbps Uncapped
120/120 Mbps Uncapped
200/200 Mbps Uncapped
Showing 4 of 4 deals · Prices indicative · Sign-up via the listed ISP · Affiliate links may earn us a commission on referrals
What is Herotel on Fibre & Wireless?
Herotel is a vertically integrated South African ISP and fibre network operator (FNO) that builds, owns and sells its own fibre and fixed-wireless network. Unlike open-access FNOs like Vumatel or Openserve, Herotel is closed-access - you buy HeroFibre direct from Herotel rather than through resellers like Webafrica or Afrihost. The trade-off is tight local support: Herotel has installers and walk-in branches in the towns it serves, from East London and Pretoria to Modimolle, Robertson, Klerksdorp and Queenstown.
Herotel's product line covers four main pillars: HeroFibre (uncapped FTTH from R399/month with a free-to-use router), HeroWireless (fixed wireless for farms and rural homes outside fibre footprint), HeroPrepaid (voucher-based fibre with no contract or credit check, from R119 for a 7-day pass) and HeroVoice (VoIP that lets you keep your existing landline number). Herotel was named MyBroadband's Best Speed Promise ISP 2025 and Analytico's Best Value Fibre Provider in 2022.
A comparison of Fibre & Wireless deals
We track 4 live Fibre & Wireless packages from Herotel. Here's how the line-up shapes up.
| Metric | Value | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest line | R399 | 20/10 Mbps · Herotel |
| Fastest line | 200 Mbps | R1 049/month · Herotel |
| Best value | R5.25/Mbps | 200 Mbps at R1 049 |
| Symmetrical | 3 of 4 | packages upload at download speed |
Herotel competes on local presence and prepaid flexibility rather than headline speed. If you live in a smaller SA town where Vumatel and Openserve haven't built, Herotel is often the only fibre option - and the HeroPrepaid voucher model is one of the most flexible in the market. Worth knowing before you pick it, though: a 31-day prepaid voucher on the entry tier costs R429 against R399 for the monthly line, which also has no contract - so prepaid is the more expensive way to buy a full month, not the cheaper one.
Speed tier ladder: Fibre & Wireless
| Speed | Line type | Network | Cheapest ISP | From | R/Mbps |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20/10 Mbps | Asymmetrical | Herotel | Herotel | R399 | R19.95 |
| 60/60 Mbps | Symmetrical | Herotel | Herotel | R629 | R10.48 |
| 120/120 Mbps | Symmetrical | Herotel | Herotel | R799 | R6.66 |
| 200/200 Mbps | Symmetrical | Herotel | Herotel | R1 049 | R5.25 |
Best value: Fibre & Wireless R/Mbps
| Package | Monthly price | Download | Price per Mbps |
|---|---|---|---|
| Herotel 200MBest value | R1 049 | 200 Mbps | R5.25 |
| Herotel 120M | R799 | 120 Mbps | R6.66 |
| Herotel 60M | R629 | 60 Mbps | R10.48 |
| Herotel 20M | R399 | 20 Mbps | R19.95 |
Herotel starts at R399/mo here
That is the 20/10 Mbps Uncapped line, and no ISP we track undercuts it on Herotel. Sort by price, speed or rand-per-Mbps to find the tier that fits.
Or compare every ISP's 20 Mbps deals, not just Herotel on Fibre & Wireless
What a year actually costs
Advertised monthly price and 12-month cost of ownership are not the same ranking. Below, every Fibre & Wireless line on this page over 12 months, with the promo step-up and the once-off fee where the operator publishes one.
| # | Package | Advertised | Reverts to | Once-off | 12-month total | Effective /mo | Rank on cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | HerotelHerotel · 20/10 Mbps | R399 | — | not stated | R4 788 | R399 | 1 |
| 2 | HerotelHerotel · 60/60 Mbps | R629 | — | not stated | R7 548 | R629 | 2 |
| 3 | HerotelHerotel · 120/120 Mbps | R799 | — | not stated | R9 588 | R799 | 3 |
| 4 | HerotelHerotel · 200/200 Mbps | R1 049 | — | not stated | R12 588 | R1 049 | 4 |
A once-off installation or activation charge is paid once, so it weighs on year one and not on year two. Where a line wins on the advertised rate but loses over twelve months, check how long you expect to keep it, and compare on effective monthly cost rather than on the headline. Next: every ISP's 20 Mbps deals.
Why choose Herotel on Fibre & Wireless
HeroFibre
Uncapped FTTH from R399/month for 20/10 Mbps. Free-to-use router included, and a once-off R199 starter pack covers installation and activation.
HeroPrepaid
Voucher-based fibre - top up like airtime, from R119 for 7 days. No credit check, no contract. Separate from the HeroFibre starter pack.
HeroWireless
Fixed wireless internet for farms, smallholdings and rural homes outside the fibre build.
HeroVoice
VoIP landline replacement. Keep your existing number, slash monthly call costs.
Local support
Branches and installers based in the towns Herotel serves - 7-day-a-week WhatsApp support.
Closed-access network
Herotel owns the fibre and sells direct. Not resold via Webafrica, Afrihost or MWeb.
How the install actually works
From coverage check to a live line on Fibre & Wireless - what happens, and roughly when.
- Day 0Coverage check
Confirm which networks are live at your exact address before you order.
- Day 0-1Order placed
Sign up with your ISP. Debit order and FICA documents are handled online.
- Day 1-3Network validation
The network operator validates the line and schedules a technician.
- Day 3-10Installation
Fibre is pulled to the home, the ONT is mounted and your router is configured.
- Day 3-10Activation
The ISP provisions the service and the line goes live, usually same day.
| Timing | Step | What happens |
|---|---|---|
| Day 0 | Coverage check | Confirm which networks are live at your exact address before you order. |
| Day 0-1 | Order placed | Sign up with your ISP. Debit order and FICA documents are handled online. |
| Day 1-3 | Network validation | The network operator validates the line and schedules a technician. |
| Day 3-10 | Installation | Fibre is pulled to the home, the ONT is mounted and your router is configured. |
| Day 3-10 | Activation | The ISP provisions the service and the line goes live, usually same day. |
Frequently asked questions
Other fibre networks
Compare this network against the other FNOs we track in detail.
Helpful guides
Practical reads that pair with this page - sizing your line, picking a router, fixing slow Wi-Fi and more.
Help someone else pick the right fibre
Compare every live deal
Filter by network, sort by price or speed, and lock in a verified package in under two minutes.
Or compare Herotel against every other ISP on Fibre & Wireless, side by side
