Skip to main content
    FastestFibre.co.za
    Pricing

    Fibre Downgrade Fees, By Network: Who Charges What - and Who Won't Say

    Openserve, Frogfoot and Evotel now disclose what they charge ISPs to downgrade a fibre package - R100, R750 and R925.75 respectively, per MyBroadband's reporting. Herotel, MetroFibre and Octotel charge nothing. Vumatel, asked twice in 2026, still won't say. Here's the full comparison and what it means if you're planning to downgrade.

    FastestFibre Editorial10 min read
    Horizontal bar chart comparing fibre network downgrade fees: Openserve R100, Frogfoot R750, Evotel R925.75, with Vumatel shown as an undisclosed dashed bar
    In this article(9)
    1. 01What MyBroadband's reporting actually found
    2. 02Every network's downgrade fee, compared
    3. 03Who actually pays this fee - you, or your ISP?
    4. 04What's confirmed, and what's still just a rumour
    5. 05How this story developed
    6. 06Should this change your downgrade plans?
    7. 07What we verified today, and what we couldn't
    8. 08Bottom line
    9. 09Frequently asked questions

    What MyBroadband's reporting actually found

    When a fibre customer downgrades from a faster, pricier package to a cheaper one, most people assume that's a decision between them and their ISP. It isn't entirely - the network operator that actually owns the physical fibre line (Openserve, Vumatel, Frogfoot, Evotel, and others) can charge the ISP a separate fee for processing that downgrade, and the ISP decides whether to absorb that cost or pass it on to the customer.

    MyBroadband put the question to every major fixed network operator (FNO) in South Africa this year. Most answered. Openserve confirmed a R100 fee and said it's under review; Frogfoot confirmed R750; Evotel confirmed R925.75. Three networks - Herotel, MetroFibre, Octotel - said they don't charge a downgrade fee at all. One network didn't answer: Vumatel, asked twice in 2026, has declined both times to state a current figure.

    Cheapest disclosed fee
    R100
    Openserve, after twice declining to confirm it
    Priciest disclosed fee
    R925.75
    Evotel - more than 9x Openserve's rate
    Networks charging nothing
    3
    Herotel, MetroFibre, Octotel
    Networks that won't say
    1
    Vumatel
    Source: MyBroadband, downgrade-fee reporting, 2026. Wholesale downgrade fee charged by network operator to ISP, South Africa, 2026 As of 2 September 2026.
    Source: MyBroadband, downgrade-fee reporting, 2026. Wholesale downgrade fee charged by network operator to ISP, South Africa, 2026 As of 2 September 2026.
    MetricValueDetail
    Cheapest disclosed feeR100Openserve, after twice declining to confirm it
    Priciest disclosed feeR925.75Evotel - more than 9x Openserve's rate
    Networks charging nothing3Herotel, MetroFibre, Octotel
    Networks that won't say1Vumatel

    Every network's downgrade fee, compared

    Laid out side by side, the range is wide - Evotel's disclosed fee is more than nine times Openserve's, and three networks charge nothing at all. Vumatel is shown here as an explicit gap rather than an estimate: we are not filling in a number nobody at Vumatel has confirmed.

    Fibre downgrade fee by network operatorOpenserveR100Confirmed by OpenserveFrogfootR750Confirmed by FrogfootEvotelR925.75Confirmed by EvotelVumatelRefused to discloseHerotelR0No fee chargedMetroFibreR0No fee chargedOctotelR0No fee charged
    Source: MyBroadband, downgrade-fee reporting, 2026. Wholesale downgrade fee charged by the network operator to the reselling ISP As of 2 September 2026.
    NetworkFeeStatus
    OpenserveR100Confirmed by Openserve
    FrogfootR750Confirmed by Frogfoot
    EvotelR925.75Confirmed by Evotel
    VumatelNot disclosedRefused to disclose
    HerotelR0No fee charged
    MetroFibreR0No fee charged
    OctotelR0No fee charged
    Source: MyBroadband, downgrade-fee reporting, 2026. Wholesale downgrade fee charged by the network operator to the reselling ISP As of 2 September 2026.

    Who actually pays this fee - you, or your ISP?

    The fee sits between the network operator and the ISP, not between the network and you directly. That matters, because it means two customers downgrading the exact same Vumatel or Openserve line through two different ISPs could have completely different experiences: one ISP absorbs the cost as a normal business expense, another bills it straight through, and a third builds a smaller admin fee of its own on top and calls it a "downgrade processing fee" on your invoice.

    There's no single South African rule requiring an ISP to disclose whether it passes this cost on before you sign up or downgrade - so the only reliable way to know what a downgrade will actually cost you is to ask your ISP directly, in writing, before you request it. Ask specifically: "Does my network operator charge you a downgrade fee, and do you pass any part of it on to me?"

    What's confirmed, and what's still just a rumour

    Vumatel's silence has left a gap that an unnamed industry source tried to fill: MyBroadband reports being told the fee was "around R1,000 at one point," with the caveat that it may have changed since. We're treating that explicitly as unconfirmed rather than reporting it as Vumatel's current fee, because it comes from an anonymous industry source rather than from Vumatel itself, and because "at one point" carries no date.

    What we're treating as confirmed vs. unconfirmed on Vumatel's downgrade fee
    DetailStatus
    Vumatel's current downgrade feeNot confirmed - Vumatel has declined to state a figure twice in 2026
    "~R1,000 at one point" figureUnconfirmed - attributed only to an unnamed industry source, no date given
    Vumatel charged R500 on Double Up promo packages (2022)Historical, network-specific to a since-ended promotion - not evidence of the current general fee
    Openserve R100, Frogfoot R750, Evotel R925.75Confirmed directly by each network to MyBroadband
    Herotel, MetroFibre, Octotel charge no downgrade feeConfirmed directly by each network to MyBroadband

    If you're on Vumatel's network specifically and considering a downgrade, ask your ISP for the exact figure before you commit - don't rely on the R1,000 estimate above, since even MyBroadband's own source flagged it as possibly stale.

    How this story developed

    1. 1 June 2022
      Vumatel charges a R500 downgrade fee on its Double Up promo packages

      MyBroadband's earlier reporting on fibre downgrade penalties recorded ISPs pushing back on a R500 fee Vumatel applied specifically to Double Up promotional packages - the first time the practice drew public scrutiny on this network.

    2. 1 August 2026
      MyBroadband asks every major FNO to disclose its downgrade fee

      In an earlier round of questions, Openserve initially kept its fee confidential; Frogfoot and Evotel disclosed theirs (R750 and R925.75). Herotel, MetroFibre and Octotel confirmed they charge ISPs nothing when a customer downgrades.

    3. 28 August 2026
      Openserve discloses a R100 fee; Vumatel is asked again and still declines

      MyBroadband reports Openserve has now confirmed a R100 downgrade fee and said it is considering scrapping it as part of a regular pricing review with its ISP partners. Vumatel was approached a second time in 2026 and again declined to state a current figure - the only major FNO still withholding the number.

    Source: MyBroadband, fibre downgrade-fee reporting, 2022-2026. From a 2022 dispute over a single promo package to a full 2026 disclosure round covering every major network.
    Source: MyBroadband, fibre downgrade-fee reporting, 2022-2026. From a 2022 dispute over a single promo package to a full 2026 disclosure round covering every major network.
    DateMilestoneWhat happened
    1 June 2022Vumatel charges a R500 downgrade fee on its Double Up promo packagesMyBroadband's earlier reporting on fibre downgrade penalties recorded ISPs pushing back on a R500 fee Vumatel applied specifically to Double Up promotional packages - the first time the practice drew public scrutiny on this network.
    1 August 2026MyBroadband asks every major FNO to disclose its downgrade feeIn an earlier round of questions, Openserve initially kept its fee confidential; Frogfoot and Evotel disclosed theirs (R750 and R925.75). Herotel, MetroFibre and Octotel confirmed they charge ISPs nothing when a customer downgrades.
    28 August 2026Openserve discloses a R100 fee; Vumatel is asked again and still declinesMyBroadband reports Openserve has now confirmed a R100 downgrade fee and said it is considering scrapping it as part of a regular pricing review with its ISP partners. Vumatel was approached a second time in 2026 and again declined to state a current figure - the only major FNO still withholding the number.

    Should this change your downgrade plans?

    Does a downgrade fee actually affect you?

    Most fibre customers never see this fee directly - here's how to work out if you're one of the exceptions.

    1. Q1

      Are you planning to downgrade to a cheaper package in the next few months?

      • NoThis fee doesn't apply to you right now - it's only triggered when a package change is processed.
      • YesAsk your ISP in writing whether they pass any downgrade fee on to you before you request the change.
    2. Q2

      Do you know which network operator carries your line - Openserve, Vumatel, Frogfoot, Evotel, or another?

    What we verified today, and what we couldn't

    This article's core facts trace to MyBroadband's downgrade-fee reporting. We attempted to read MyBroadband's article directly today and could not - its server returned a 403 error to our automated fetch, the same bot-blocking behaviour already documented on this site for Webafrica's own pages. Because the primary source wasn't directly reachable, we corroborated the story with multiple independent search queries against the same underlying reporting, run separately and returning consistent figures each time: the R100 Openserve fee, the R750 Frogfoot fee, the R925.75 Evotel fee, the zero-fee confirmation for Herotel, MetroFibre, Octotel, and Vumatel's refusal to disclose all repeated identically across separate queries. We also checked for independent confirmation from TechCentral and found none - this remains a single-publication story as of today, which is why every figure above is attributed to MyBroadband specifically rather than presented as independently multi-sourced.

    What we're treating as solidly confirmed: the disclosed fee amounts for Openserve, Frogfoot and Evotel, the zero-fee status of Herotel, MetroFibre and Octotel, and Vumatel's refusal to disclose a current figure. What we're explicitly not treating as confirmed: the "~R1,000" figure attributed to an anonymous industry source for Vumatel, which we've flagged rather than presented as fact throughout this piece.

    Bottom line

    Four of South Africa's major fibre networks now publish a clear number for what they charge ISPs to downgrade a customer's line - Openserve at R100, Frogfoot at R750, Evotel at R925.75, and three networks (Herotel, MetroFibre, Octotel) at zero. Vumatel remains the one holdout, and until it discloses a figure, anyone on Vumatel's network planning a downgrade is working with a genuine information gap that only their ISP can close.

    The practical takeaway either way: this fee is set by the network, not your ISP, but your ISP decides whether you ever see it. Ask before you downgrade, not after.

    Frequently asked questions

    Some do. Openserve charges R100, Frogfoot R750 and Evotel R925.75 to the ISP for processing a downgrade. Herotel, MetroFibre and Octotel charge nothing. Vumatel has declined to disclose a current figure.

    No - the fee is charged by the network operator to the ISP. Whether the ISP absorbs that cost or passes it on to you depends on the individual ISP, so it's worth asking before you downgrade.

    Vumatel has not disclosed a current figure despite being asked twice in 2026. An unnamed industry source told MyBroadband it was around R1,000 at one point, but that figure is unconfirmed and may be outdated - ask your ISP for the exact amount if you're on Vumatel's network.

    Herotel, MetroFibre, Octotel all confirmed to MyBroadband that they don't charge ISPs anything when a customer downgrades their package.

    Help someone else pick the right fibre

    Compare fibre ISPs before you switch

    See how every major ISP stacks up on price, speed and network quality before you downgrade or switch providers.

    Disclaimer: FastestFibre.co.za is an independent comparison and information service. We do not own any fibre network, and we do not sell internet packages directly. Pricing, speeds and availability shown on this site are indicative and may change without notice; final pricing, terms and contractual obligations are set by the individual ISPs and fibre network operators.

    Some outbound links on this site are affiliate links. If you sign up via one of these links we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects which packages we review, recommend or rank. Reviews and editorial content are written independently. For corrections or feedback, contact us via the social channels above.

    © 2026 FastestFibre.co.za - All rights reserved.