Skip to main content
    FastestFibre.co.za
    Networks

    WIOCC's $300 Million Raise: What a Bigger Backbone Wholesaler Means for SA Fibre

    WIOCC Group has signed a $300 million Shareholder Subscription Agreement with Africa Finance Corporation and Saudi Arabia's Vision Invest - its largest capital raise yet, per first-party announcements from both WIOCC and AFC on 1-3 September 2026. WIOCC already runs six data-centre sites and stakes in four subsea cables inside South Africa today. Here's what the new money is actually earmarked for, how WIOCC stacks up against Liquid Intelligent Technologies - the other backbone wholesaler behind SA fibre - and what does and doesn't change for your bill.

    FastestFibre Editorial14 min read
    A downward funnel labelled $300M new capital pouring into three stacked horizontal bands labelled subsea cable, terrestrial fibre and data centres, on a dark purple gradient background
    In this article(11)
    1. 01What actually happened
    2. 02Who is WIOCC, and why should a South African fibre customer care
    3. 03What WIOCC already operates in South Africa today
    4. 04Where the new $300 million is actually earmarked
    5. 05WIOCC vs Liquid: South Africa's two backbone wholesalers, compared
    6. 06Why this matters if you've never heard of WIOCC before today
    7. 07What we verified today, and how
    8. 08Does this actually affect your fibre bill?
    9. 09What to watch next
    10. 10Bottom line
    11. 11Frequently asked questions

    What actually happened

    On 1 September 2026, at the LEAP technology exhibition in Riyadh, WIOCC Group signed a Shareholder Subscription Agreement (SSA) with two investors: the Africa Finance Corporation (AFC) - a multilateral development finance institution with 48 member countries that has deployed over $19 billion across 36 African countries since 2007 - and Vision International Investment Company (Vision Invest), a Saudi Arabian infrastructure investor with a portfolio spanning five continents. Together they're putting a combined $300 million into WIOCC. Both organisations' own newsrooms confirm the figure, the date and the venue independently, which clears this site's bar for a first-party-verified announcement rather than one sourced only to trade press.

    WIOCC's CEO, Chris Wood, called it a chance to "do more of what WIOCC Group already does best: building the business-critical digital infrastructure that other companies rely on every day." AFC's president and CEO, Samaila Zubairu, framed the rationale in broader terms: "The Africa we build must be connected, competitive and equipped to create value from the digital economy, not only consume it." Neither statement, nor the structured deal details from either newsroom, discloses the resulting equity stake or a valuation for WIOCC - both announcements are explicit that those terms aren't being made public.

    New capital raised
    $300 million
    Combined AFC + Vision Invest via a Shareholder Subscription Agreement
    Vs 2025's full-year total
    ~$400m across all 2025 rounds
    Per TechCentral's reporting only - not restated in WIOCC's or AFC's own announcement
    Vs 2022's largest round
    $200 million
    Per TechCentral's reporting only - see sourcing note below
    Equity stake disclosed
    Not disclosed
    Neither WIOCC's nor AFC's announcement states the stake or valuation
    Source: WIOCC Group newsroom and Africa Finance Corporation newsroom, both published 1-3 September 2026. Headline figures from the 1 September 2026 Shareholder Subscription Agreement. As of 3 September 2026.
    Source: WIOCC Group newsroom and Africa Finance Corporation newsroom, both published 1-3 September 2026. Headline figures from the 1 September 2026 Shareholder Subscription Agreement. As of 3 September 2026.
    MetricValueDetail
    New capital raised$300 millionCombined AFC + Vision Invest via a Shareholder Subscription Agreement
    Vs 2025's full-year total~$400m across all 2025 roundsPer TechCentral's reporting only - not restated in WIOCC's or AFC's own announcement
    Vs 2022's largest round$200 millionPer TechCentral's reporting only - see sourcing note below
    Equity stake disclosedNot disclosedNeither WIOCC's nor AFC's announcement states the stake or valuation

    Who is WIOCC, and why should a South African fibre customer care

    If you've never heard of WIOCC, that's by design - it doesn't sell you a fibre package. WIOCC Group (the company was originally the West Indian Ocean Cable Company, though it now operates a broader portfolio than its original name suggests) is a Nairobi-headquartered, open-access wholesale digital infrastructure operator active in more than 30 African countries. Its existing shareholder base includes Uganda Telecom, Dalkom Somalia, Djibouti Telecom, Mozambique's TMCEL and the International Finance Corporation - a mix of national telecoms operators and development-finance investors, which is typical of open-access wholesale infrastructure rather than a retail consumer brand.

    "Open-access wholesale" is the operative phrase. WIOCC doesn't compete with Openserve, Vumatel, Frogfoot, Octotel or MetroFibre for a homeowner's fibre contract. Instead it operates two of the layers those retail networks and their upstream ISPs quietly depend on: colocation and data-centre space (through its Open Access Data Centres, OADC, division) and long-haul connectivity - terrestrial backbone fibre plus subsea cable capacity that carries traffic into and out of the country. It's the same category of business as Liquid Intelligent Technologies, which this site covered in detail after the Emerging Africa & Asia Infrastructure Fund (EAAIF) put fresh debt into Liquid's balance sheet in August - see the full comparison further down this article.

    What WIOCC already operates in South Africa today

    Here's the part that makes this story more concrete for South African readers than a pure balance-sheet item: WIOCC isn't proposing to enter South Africa with this new money - it's already here, with named, dated infrastructure. Its Open Access Data Centres division completed the acquisition of seven NTT Data facilities effective 31 December 2025, adding more than 25 megawatts of data-centre capacity across six South African cities. On the connectivity side, WIOCC's own Southern Africa product pages describe metro fibre rings in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban feeding a national long-distance backbone with more than 100 live points of presence, plus fibre-pair ownership or strategic stakes across four subsea cable systems that land on the South African coast.

    WIOCC's existing South African footprint (not itself funded by the new $300m raise)
    AssetWhereDetail
    Data centres (OADC)Bloemfontein, Cape Town, East London, Gqeberha, Durban, Johannesburg25MW+ across 7 facilities acquired from NTT Data, effective 31 December 2025
    Metro fibre networksJohannesburg, Cape Town, DurbanDense in-city fibre rings feeding the national backbone
    National long-distance backboneNationwideMore than 100 live points of presence, per WIOCC's own Southern Africa product page
    Subsea cable holdings touching SA2Africa, EASSy, Equiano, WACSFull fibre-pair ownership on 2Africa and Equiano; largest investor in EASSy; strategic investor in WACS and EIG

    One clarification worth making precisely, because it's easy to conflate: Openserve is the landing partner for the Equiano subsea cable in South Africa, holding one of twelve fibre pairs (roughly 12Tbps of the cable's 144Tbps total design capacity). WIOCC's fibre-pair ownership on Equiano is a separate holding on the same physical cable system - both companies connect to it, as different capacity owners, not as the same entity under two names.

    Where the new $300 million is actually earmarked

    Both WIOCC's and AFC's announcements name the same three priorities for the new capital, in this order: accelerating the deployment and consolidation of data-centre capacity; extending WIOCC's open-access terrestrial fibre footprint into new markets; and adding "strategically selected" new subsea cable assets to strengthen international connectivity. WIOCC's Group Chief Strategy and M&A Officer, Joshua Smythwood, put it plainly: "This agreement strengthens our position and gives us the capacity to deliver on that strategy."

    What neither announcement does - and we checked both in full rather than relying on a summary - is commit a specific dollar figure to South Africa, or name a specific new subsea cable, data-centre site or fibre route the $300 million will build. That's a materially different disclosure gap to, say, a retail ISP publishing a price increase effective a named date: this is growth capital for a multi-country expansion strategy, and the company hasn't yet said where within that strategy the money lands first. We'll treat any future country-specific announcement from WIOCC as the next dated milestone to watch for, rather than assuming South Africa gets a proportional share simply because it's already WIOCC's most built-out national footprint.

    WIOCC vs Liquid: South Africa's two backbone wholesalers, compared

    South African fibre customers have, without necessarily knowing it, two major open-access wholesale infrastructure operators sitting upstream of their internet connection: WIOCC and Liquid Intelligent Technologies (through its Africa Data Centres subsidiary and its own subsea and terrestrial holdings). Both raised significant new capital in 2026. Here's how they actually compare, dimension by dimension, using only figures each company or its named investors have themselves disclosed.

    Source: WIOCC Group and AFC newsrooms (Sep 2026); Liquid/Africa Data Centres public product pages; this site's own August 2026 reporting on the EAAIF-Liquid financing. Edge marks the larger disclosed figure or broader footprint on that dimension; a tie means both hold comparable, non-overlapping subsea assets. As of 3 September 2026.
    DimensionWIOCCLiquid Intelligent Technologies
    Latest funding round$300m Shareholder Subscription Agreement, 1 Sep 2026$50m EAAIF tranche (Aug 2026) inside a $450m package, itself following an April 2026 $660m debt-plus-equity refinancing
    Lead investors this roundAfrica Finance Corporation + Saudi Arabia's Vision InvestEmerging Africa & Asia Infrastructure Fund (EAAIF, managed by Ninety One)
    South African data centre cities6 (Bloemfontein, Cape Town, East London, Gqeberha, Durban, Johannesburg) via OADC2 (Johannesburg, Cape Town) via Africa Data Centres
    Data centre capacity disclosed25MW+ in South Africa specifically (OADC's ex-NTT sites)78MW combined across Johannesburg, Cape Town, Nairobi, Harare and Kigali - no SA-only figure published
    Subsea cables heldFull fibre pairs on 2Africa and Equiano; largest EASSy investor; strategic investor in WACS and EIGCapacity on SAT-3/SAFE, WACS, TEAMS, EASSy and a large SEACOM holding
    Countries of operation30+25
    HeadquartersNairobi, KenyaJohannesburg, South Africa
    Source: WIOCC Group and AFC newsrooms (Sep 2026); Liquid/Africa Data Centres public product pages; this site's own August 2026 reporting on the EAAIF-Liquid financing. Edge marks the larger disclosed figure or broader footprint on that dimension; a tie means both hold comparable, non-overlapping subsea assets. As of 3 September 2026.

    The practical read: neither company is bigger on every dimension. WIOCC's newest raise is larger as a single deal and its South African data-centre footprint spans more cities, but Liquid's combined pan-African data-centre capacity is larger in aggregate and it's headquartered in Johannesburg rather than Nairobi. For a South African reader, the useful takeaway isn't "WIOCC wins" or "Liquid wins" - it's that the country now has two well-capitalised, competing wholesale infrastructure operators rather than one, which is a healthier market structure for exactly the reasons open-access wholesale fibre proved to be for retail ISPs: competition among carriers at the wholesale layer is part of what's kept downward pressure on prices further down the stack.

    Why this matters if you've never heard of WIOCC before today

    International and backbone capacity is the part of a fibre connection nobody notices until it breaks. Every overseas video call, every stream from a server outside South Africa, and a meaningful share of your ISP's own upstream bandwidth rides across exactly this layer - cross-border terrestrial fibre and subsea cable capacity sold wholesale to the ISPs and mobile operators that actually bill you. Our reporting on Africa's submarine cable repair crisis found the continent shares just 13% of the world's active cable-repair ships, with a single 43-year-old vessel permanently stationed in Cape Town for the entire coastline - part of why a single subsea cable fault thousands of kilometres away can slow an otherwise fast, uncapped South African fibre line for weeks.

    Route diversity and financial strength at the wholesale layer are two of the few real levers against that fragility. WIOCC holding stakes across four separate subsea systems (2Africa, EASSy, Equiano and WACS), rather than depending on any single cable, is the kind of redundancy that determines how badly one fault actually bites. A fresh $300 million of capital - on top of, not instead of, that existing footprint - makes WIOCC a financially stronger link in that mesh, in the same way this site noted EAAIF's $50 million into Liquid did for a different operator in August. Separately, Google's new Eastern Cape cable-landing site, which we covered in our report on the Digital Exchange Port, is another data point in the same trend: more international capacity, held by more distinct operators, landing on South African soil, rather than the country depending on a small number of cables or carriers.

    None of this is a guarantee against future outages, and it isn't a reason to expect a near-term retail price cut either - wholesale capacity investment operates on a multi-year cycle, and neither WIOCC nor AFC's announcement makes any pricing claim at all. It's simply a genuinely different, more resilient starting position than an under-capitalised wholesale layer would be.

    What we verified today, and how

    Unlike our August report on EAAIF's financing of Liquid - where neither EAAIF's nor Liquid's own newsroom had published the story at the time of writing - both parties to this deal have their own live announcements. We fetched WIOCC Group's own newsroom post and AFC's own newsroom post directly today. Both are first-party, both are dated within the announcement's news cycle, and both independently state the same $300 million figure, the same 1 September 2026 signing date at LEAP in Riyadh, and the same three-priority use of funds - clearing this site's bar for a verified figure without needing to lean on trade-press intermediaries at all. One figure in this article doesn't clear that bar on its own: the framing of this as WIOCC's largest raise, "ahead of" a roughly $400 million 2025 total and a $200 million 2022 round, comes from TechCentral's reporting alone - neither WIOCC's nor AFC's own announcement restates those historical figures, and we could not find a second independent source for them today. We're presenting that comparison as TechCentral's characterisation, not as independently confirmed, per our usual two-source bar for non-first-party figures.

    WIOCC's existing South African footprint (the data-centre and subsea/backbone detail in the table above) comes from WIOCC's own Southern Africa product page and the publicly reported completion date of the NTT Data acquisition. We could not independently verify a precise current power-draw figure beyond the "25MW+" WIOCC itself states, and neither WIOCC nor Liquid publishes a single combined "South Africa-only" data-centre capacity number in the same units - which is why the comparison table above cites Liquid's pan-African 78MW figure rather than inventing an SA-only split nobody has disclosed. We did not find, and are not claiming, any confirmed named South African ISP customer of either WIOCC's or Liquid's wholesale capacity products - both companies describe their customer base only in general terms (carriers, ISPs, mobile operators, enterprises).

    Does this actually affect your fibre bill?

    Does WIOCC's $300 million raise change anything for you?

    For essentially every South African fibre customer, the honest answer is: not directly, and not this month. Work through it below.

    1. Q1

      Do you buy internet access, colocation or wholesale capacity directly from WIOCC or its OADC data centres?

      • No - my provider is Openserve, Vumatel, Frogfoot, Octotel, MetroFibre, or a reseller ISPTrue of essentially every South African home fibre customer. WIOCC operates several layers upstream from your actual contract, not the company billing you.
    2. Q2

      Does this raise change your monthly fibre price, contract terms, or coverage?

      • NoCorrect. Neither WIOCC's nor AFC's announcement makes any pricing claim, and there's no South Africa-specific capex commitment disclosed. Nothing here should show up on your next invoice.

    What to watch next

    Three concrete things would move this story forward for South African readers specifically: any country-by-country breakdown of how the $300 million is actually deployed, which neither newsroom has published yet; any new subsea cable system WIOCC names as one of the "strategically selected" assets the raise is meant to fund; and whether OADC announces further South African data-centre expansion beyond the six ex-NTT sites it already operates. We'll update this article, or publish a follow-up, if any of that surfaces.

    Bottom line

    WIOCC Group signed a $300 million Shareholder Subscription Agreement with the Africa Finance Corporation and Saudi Arabia's Vision Invest on 1 September 2026 - its largest capital raise on record, confirmed by both investors' own first-party newsrooms rather than trade press alone. The money is earmarked for data-centre expansion, terrestrial fibre growth and new subsea cable assets, though neither party discloses a country-specific split. What makes this more concrete for South African readers than a pure balance-sheet story is that WIOCC already operates real, dated infrastructure here today - six data-centre sites and stakes across four subsea cables - independent of what this new money eventually funds.

    What it isn't: a change to any South African fibre customer's bill, contract or coverage. If you take one thing from this article, make it the plain version - this is good news for the financial depth and competitive structure of the wholesale layer behind your connection, not something that changes what you pay this month.

    Frequently asked questions

    No. This is growth capital at the wholesale/backbone infrastructure level. Neither WIOCC's nor AFC's announcement makes any pricing claim or names a South Africa-specific commitment - it doesn't affect what any South African fibre or ISP customer pays.

    No. WIOCC is an open-access wholesale infrastructure operator - data centres and backbone/subsea connectivity - not a last-mile fibre network like Openserve or Vumatel, and it doesn't sell residential fibre packages in South Africa.

    Six Open Access Data Centres (OADC) sites in Bloemfontein, Cape Town, East London, Gqeberha, Durban and Johannesburg, totalling 25MW+, acquired from NTT Data effective 31 December 2025; metro fibre networks in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban; a national backbone with 100+ points of presence; and stakes across the 2Africa, EASSy, Equiano and WACS subsea cables.

    Both are open-access wholesale infrastructure operators active in South Africa, but WIOCC is Nairobi-headquartered with a larger South African data-centre city footprint (6 vs Liquid's 2), while Liquid is Johannesburg-headquartered with larger disclosed pan-African data-centre capacity in aggregate. Both hold stakes across different, overlapping subsea cable systems.

    Yes. Unlike some wholesale-financing stories, both WIOCC's own newsroom and AFC's own newsroom published matching first-party announcements - the $300 million figure, the 1 September 2026 signing date and the three stated funding priorities are confirmed independently by both parties to the deal, not sourced only to trade press.

    Help someone else pick the right fibre

    Want the data behind South Africa's fibre networks?

    See our own tracked price, speed and network data - not a rewrite of someone else's press release.

    Disclaimer: FastestFibre.co.za is an independent comparison and information service. We do not own any fibre network, and we do not sell internet packages directly. Pricing, speeds and availability shown on this site are indicative and may change without notice; final pricing, terms and contractual obligations are set by the individual ISPs and fibre network operators.

    Some outbound links on this site are affiliate links. If you sign up via one of these links we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects which packages we review, recommend or rank. Reviews and editorial content are written independently. For corrections or feedback, contact us via the social channels above.

    © 2026 FastestFibre.co.za - All rights reserved.