Skip to main content
    FastestFibre.co.za

    Soweto Fibre Deals

    Affordable uncapped fibre across Soweto from R275. Vuma Reach prepaid - no contract, no credit check - covers Pimville, Diepkloof, Orlando, Meadowlands, Dobsonville and Protea Glen.

    Vibrant Soweto street scene with the iconic Orlando Towers in the background
    Live · Soweto Networks

    Live fibre deals in Soweto

    Filtered to FNOs with active Soweto coverage - Vuma Reach prepaid, Vumatel contract, Openserve and Frogfoot. Affordable entry pricing and no credit check on Vuma Reach.

    Prices checked 19 October 2026 · price-per-Mbps shown on every deal

    Showing 156 deals
    10/10 Mbps · prepaid pass
    Vuma Reach · Symmetrical
    R275pm
    What's free
    • No contract
    • Free installation
    Check Availability
    Cheapest
    30/30 Mbps Uncapped
    Vumatel · Symmetrical
    R499pm
    R409pm
    R13.63/Mbps
    Promo: first 3 months
    What's free
    • Free Wi-Fi router
    • Free install + activation
    • 60 free voice mins (Vobi)
    • Promo: first 3 months
    Check Availability
    2nd cheapest
    30/30 Mbps Uncapped
    Vumatel · Symmetrical
    R515pm
    R415pm
    R13.83/Mbps
    Promo: first 2 months
    What's free
    • Free-to-use router
    • Free install promo
    Check Availability
    20/10 Mbps · prepaid pass
    Vuma Reach · Asymmetrical
    R415pm
    What's free
    • No contract
    • Free installation
    Check Availability
    3rd cheapest
    20/10 Mbps Uncapped
    Vuma Reach · Asymmetrical
    R417pm
    R20.85/Mbps
    What's free
    • Wi-Fi included
    • Free installation
    Check Availability
    30/30 Mbps Uncapped
    Vumatel · Symmetrical
    R519pm
    R419pm
    R13.97/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free standard installation
    • Free Wi-Fi router
    Check Availability
    30/30 Mbps Uncapped
    Vumatel · Symmetrical
    R519pm
    R425pm
    R14.17/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free-to-Use router
    • Free setup worth R2732
    • New installs only
    Check Availability
    20/10 Mbps Uncapped
    Vuma Reach · Asymmetrical
    R429pm
    R21.45/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free standard installation
    • Free Wi-Fi router
    Check Availability
    30/30 Mbps Uncapped
    Openserve · Symmetrical
    R505pm
    R437pm
    R14.57/Mbps
    Promo: first 2 months
    What's free
    • Free-to-use router
    • Free install promo
    Check Availability
    30/30 Mbps Uncapped
    Openserve · Symmetrical
    R539pm
    R439pm
    R14.63/Mbps
    What's free
    • Free standard installation
    • Free Wi-Fi router
    Check Availability

    Showing 24 of 156 deals · Prices indicative · Sign-up via the listed ISP · Affiliate links may earn us a commission on referrals

    Per network

    What Soweto fibre costs per network

    There are 151 Soweto plans in the table above, spread across 4 fibre networks. They are not interchangeable: the cheapest way onto Vumatel is R409 a month, while the same question on Frogfoot starts at R599. Which networks reach your address is usually decided for you, so the useful comparison is within a network rather than across the whole list.

    Cheapest line per network · prices checked 19 October 2026
    NetworkSoweto plansCheapestSpeedBest R/Mbps, any plan
    Vumatel43R409/mo30/30 MbpsR0.70
    Vuma Reach9R417/mo20/10 MbpsR7.99
    Openserve49R437/mo30/30 MbpsR1.00
    Frogfoot50R599/mo60/30 MbpsR1.00

    The last column is the best rand-per-Mbps available anywhere on that network, at any speed — not the unit price of the cheapest line beside it. The two are rarely close, and the gap is the argument against buying on headline price. The entry tier in this segment is R409 for 30 Mbps on Vumatel, which is R13.63 per Mbps; the best unit price in the whole segment is R0.70 per Mbps. Paying a little more for a much faster line is usually the better deal; paying the minimum almost never is.

    What the cheapest line actually costs over one and two years, once-off fee included
    Monthly12 months24 months
    Promotional rate, if it never endedR409/moR4 908R9 816
    Standing rate after promoR499/moR5 988R11 976
    Once-off feeR230 onceR230R230
    What you actually payR496/mo avgR5 948R11 936

    The first row is the number that gets advertised, and it is the one to ignore. Vumatel is discounted from R499 to R409 for the first 3 months, then steps up by R90 a month — a 22% increase on the rate that sold you the line. Over two years that is R11 936 rather than the R9 816 the headline price implies, which works out at R497 a month rather than R409. Budget on the standing rate and treat the discount as a rebate on the first few months. The totals above include the R230 once-off charge this line carries, but not a router you buy outright. Cancellation terms are the other cost that does not appear in a monthly price: no fixed term is not the same as no cancellation fee, and several ISPs here claw back a waived install if you leave inside six or twelve months.

    Looking wider than this segment? Compare every fibre deal we track puts the full catalogue in one sortable table, and the cheapest fibre deals ranks the whole market on price and rand-per-Mbps rather than within one network.

    Beyond the headline

    What a Soweto line costs over its first year

    Cheapest line
    R409
    30/30 Mbps · Vox
    Fastest line
    1000 Mbps
    R1 209/month · Vumatel
    Best value
    R0.70/Mbps
    1000 Mbps at R699
    Symmetrical
    66 of 151
    packages upload at download speed
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking. Live snapshot of every Soweto line we track, across every ISP selling on a Soweto network. Monthly-billed packages only; pre-paid passes are priced per pass, not per month, and are excluded from per-month figures. As of 19 October 2026.
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking. Live snapshot of every Soweto line we track, across every ISP selling on a Soweto network. Monthly-billed packages only; pre-paid passes are priced per pass, not per month, and are excluded from per-month figures. As of 19 October 2026.
    MetricValueDetail
    Cheapest lineR40930/30 Mbps · Vox
    Fastest line1000 MbpsR1 209/month · Vumatel
    Best valueR0.70/Mbps1000 Mbps at R699
    Symmetrical66 of 151packages upload at download speed
    What the 10 cheapest advertised fibre packages imply year one costs, against what it actually costsVox30/30 MbpsR4 908 impliedR5 948 actualRSAweb30/30 MbpsR4 980 impliedR6 230 actualAfrihost20/10 MbpsR5 004 impliedR5 004 actualWebafrica30/30 MbpsR5 028 impliedR6 277 actualMweb30/30 MbpsR5 100 impliedR5 852 actualWebafrica20/10 MbpsR5 148 impliedR5 397 actualRSAweb30/30 MbpsR5 244 impliedR6 174 actualMweb30/30 MbpsR5 268 impliedR6 168 actualWebafrica30/30 MbpsR5 268 impliedR6 517 actualMweb20/10 MbpsR5 388 impliedR5 388 actual
    What the advertised rate impliesWhat year one actually costs
    What the 10 cheapest advertised fibre packages imply year one costs, against what it actually costs
    #PackageAdvertisedReverts toOnce-off12-month totalEffective /moRank on cost
    1VoxVumatel · 30/30 MbpsR409R499after 3 moR230R5 948R496+R1 040 vs advertised5
    2RSAwebVumatel · 30/30 MbpsR415R515after 2 moR250R6 230R519+R1 250 vs advertised11outside the top 10
    3AfrihostVuma Reach · 20/10 MbpsR417—R0R5 004R4171
    4WebafricaVumatel · 30/30 MbpsR419R519after 2 moR249R6 277R523+R1 249 vs advertised12outside the top 10
    5MwebVumatel · 30/30 MbpsR425R519after 4 monot statedR5 852R488+R752 vs advertised4
    6WebafricaVuma Reach · 20/10 MbpsR429—R249R5 397R450+R249 vs advertised3
    7RSAwebOpenserve · 30/30 MbpsR437R505after 2 moR250R6 174R515+R930 vs advertised8
    8MwebOpenserve · 30/30 MbpsR439R539after 3 monot statedR6 168R514+R900 vs advertised7
    9WebafricaOpenserve · 30/30 MbpsR439R539after 2 moR249R6 517R543+R1 249 vs advertised14outside the top 10
    10MwebVuma Reach · 20/10 MbpsR449—not statedR5 388R4492

    A once-off installation or activation charge is paid once, so it weighs on year one and not on year two. Where a line wins on the advertised rate but loses over twelve months, check how long you expect to keep it, and compare on effective monthly cost rather than on the headline. Next: Compare every fibre line that bills month to month.

    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking, computed from the 151 monthly-billed packages we track. Ranking by advertised monthly price and ranking by what year one actually costs are not the same ordering: 3 of these 10 cheapest-advertised lines fall outside the 10 cheapest to own over 12 months, and 10 change position. The widest gap is RSAweb on Vumatel (30/30 Mbps Uncapped), advertised at R415/month but R6 230 over 12 months — R1 250 more than the advertised rate implies. Totals charge the promotional rate for the months it runs, the standing rate thereafter, and the once-off fee where the operator publishes one. 2 packages carry a promotion whose length the operator does not state and are excluded rather than estimated. Monthly-billed packages only; pre-paid passes are priced per pass, not per month, and are excluded from per-month figures. As of 19 October 2026.

    Check the cheapest Soweto line at your address

    30/30 Mbps Uncapped on Vumatel is the cheapest monthly line we can price in Soweto, at R409/month from Vox. Coverage is decided street by street, so the only way to know whether it is available to you is to check the address.

    The ladder

    Every Soweto speed tier and the cheapest price on it

    Soweto speed tiers and the cheapest live price on each tier20/10 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R41740/10 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R53760/30 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R599120/60 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R599240/120 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R699400/200 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R7991000/250 MbpsAsymmetricalfrom R699
    Source: FastestFibre deal tracking. Cheapest verified monthly price on each Soweto speed tier we track. As of 19 October 2026.
    Soweto speed tiers and the cheapest live price on each tier
    SpeedLine typeNetworkCheapest ISPFromR/Mbps
    20/10 MbpsAsymmetricalVuma ReachAfrihostR417R20.85
    40/10 MbpsAsymmetricalVuma ReachAfrihostR537R13.43
    60/30 MbpsAsymmetricalFrogfootWebafricaR599R9.98
    120/60 MbpsAsymmetricalFrogfootRSAwebR599R4.99
    240/120 MbpsAsymmetricalFrogfootRSAwebR699R2.91
    400/200 MbpsAsymmetricalFrogfootRSAwebR799R2.00
    1000/250 MbpsAsymmetricalVumatelRSAwebR699R0.70
    The verdict

    Where a Soweto line is the right buy, and where it is not

    Both sides are computed from the 151 monthly lines we price on Soweto's 4 networks, so they move when those prices do.

    Fibre in Soweto is the right buy if…

    • Your street is on one of Soweto's 4 networksWe track live pricing on Vumatel, Vuma Reach, Openserve and Frogfoot in Soweto, from Vox, RSAweb, Afrihost, Webafrica and MWeb. That is 151 monthly lines on this page, and which of them you can actually order is decided by the trench outside your door rather than by which ISP you would prefer. If one of those names comes back on a coverage check at your address, every price here is real for you.
    • You are buying on price in SowetoThe floor here is Vumatel 30/30 Mbps uncapped from R409/month via Vox. It is a genuine monthly line rather than a pre-paid pass, and it is the cheapest thing anyone sells on a Soweto network that we hold a verified price for. Read the speed alongside it - the cheapest line in any city is an entry line, not a small discount on a fast one.
    • You want a mainstream 100 Mbps line, not an entry one4 of Soweto's networks carry a 100 Mbps-or-faster line, and the price range between them is the thing worth knowing: Vumatel starts at R449 via RSAweb, Vuma Reach at R799 via Webafrica - 1.8x for the same headline speed. The tier most households should shop is this one, and in Soweto the network that reached your street matters more to the bill than the ISP you pick on it.
    • You upload as much as you download66 of the 151 monthly lines in Soweto are symmetrical - 44% of them - so a matched upload is readily available here if you work from home, back up off-site or stream out. Filter the table on it rather than assuming the fast lines are the symmetrical ones; they are not the same question.

    Who should look elsewhere

    • Your address has no fibre yetEvery price on this page assumes one of these 4 networks has already reached your street, and in Soweto that is street-by-street rather than suburb-by-suburb. Check coverage at the exact address before you shortlist anything. If nothing comes back, this page cannot help you and fixed-wireless or LTE is the comparison to run instead.
    • You are shopping off a national "from" priceThe cheapest fibre line we track anywhere in South Africa is R279 on FibreSuburb Networks, via MWeb - and FibreSuburb Networks is not in Soweto. The real Soweto floor is R409, R130 a month more. A national "from R279" headline is not wrong, it is just not an offer at your address, and that gap is the single most common reason a quote comes back higher than expected.
    • The network you have been reading about is not in SowetoOctotel, Metro Nexus, Evotel and Metro Nova appear on our other city pages but do not carry a line we can price in Soweto, and 7 further networks do not either. Coverage is per-operator and per-street, so a package you saw recommended nationally may simply have no footprint here. Shortlist on what a coverage check returns for your address, not on a brand.
    • You want a gigabit on an entry-line budgetThe cheapest gigabit line we hold a verified Soweto price for is Vumatel 1000/250 Mbps uncapped from R699/month via RSAweb - 1.7x the Soweto floor of R409. No amount of comparing closes that: it is a different product rather than a better deal on the same one. If the budget is the constraint, the 100 Mbps tier is where to spend it.
    • You assume every line here is symmetricalOnly 66 of the 151 monthly lines in Soweto are - 44%, the lowest share of any city we publish. The rest throttle the upload well below the download, which is invisible on a headline speed and obvious the first time you send a large file. If you upload for a living, treat the symmetrical filter as the first cut rather than the last.
    Verdict on Fibre in Soweto, from the packages and prices we track on this page. Prices checked 19 October 2026.
    Networks

    Soweto fibre networks

    Soweto's fibre rollout is being led by Vumatel's prepaid Vuma Reach product - purpose-built for township households. No contract, no credit check, no debit order. Openserve and Frogfoot are filling in with contract options.

    Vuma Reach

    Vumatel's prepaid, no-contract product - purpose-built for township households. Uncapped daily and monthly bundles, no debit order required, available across Soweto.

    Vumatel (Vuma Core)

    Contract uncapped lines across Pimville, Diepkloof and selected Soweto suburbs. Symmetrical speeds from 30 Mbps to 1 Gbps where lit - Vumatel retired its old 25 Mbps entry tier, so 30/30 is now the floor.

    Openserve (Telkom)

    Wholesale fibre with growing Soweto rollout - the universal fallback supported by every ISP including affordable entry-tier deals.

    Frogfoot

    Open-access FNO with selected Soweto coverage - sharp entry pricing for households new to fibre.

    Suburbs

    Fibre by Soweto suburb

    Pimville

    One of the best-connected Soweto suburbs. Vumatel and Vuma Reach fully lit. Vumatel's symmetrical 30/30 Mbps entry line runs R409/month via Vox.

    Diepkloof

    Vumatel and Openserve coverage growing fast. Strong Vuma Reach prepaid uptake for flexible monthly spend.

    Orlando East & West

    Vuma Reach and Openserve coverage. Affordable uncapped fibre from R275 - replacing LTE for many households.

    Meadowlands & Dobsonville

    Vumatel and Vuma Reach rolling out across the Greater Soweto footprint. Check coverage by exact street address.

    Protea Glen & Naledi

    Newer Vumatel rollout. Symmetrical entry fibre at township-friendly pricing - both contract and prepaid options available.

    Jabulani & Mofolo

    Vuma Reach prepaid coverage growing. Pay-as-you-go uncapped fibre with no credit checks - ideal for first-time fibre households.

    The biggest township in SA

    Why Soweto is going prepaid

    Soweto is home to roughly 1.3 million people - making it South Africa's largest township and one of Joburg's most economically dynamic communities. For years, mobile data was the only option, and the structural problem with it has not changed: you pay per gigabyte, so the bill scales with how much the household actually uses.

    Vumatel's Vuma Reach changed that. Built specifically for township households, it gives you an uncapped line from R275 - no contract, no credit check, no debit order. You buy a bundle, you go online. For scale, the cheapest fixed-wireless line we can verify first-party is Home Internet LTE (entry, per Vodacom's own category listing) at R269/month, capped to Mbps and checked on 15 October 2026, against an uncapped fibre line here from R275. Coverage is expanding street by street - check your address before ordering.

    FAQ

    Soweto fibre questions

    Yes - Vumatel has invested heavily in Soweto via its Vuma Reach prepaid product, with growing coverage across Pimville, Diepkloof, Orlando, Meadowlands, Dobsonville, Protea Glen and Naledi. Openserve and Frogfoot are also rolling out.

    Vuma Reach prepaid is the cheapest way on, at R275 for an uncapped 10/10 Mbps line via RSAweb - no contract, no credit check and no debit order. On a monthly contract the cheapest line we track across Soweto's networks is Vox's Vumatel 30/30 Mbps at R409/month.

    Vuma Reach is Vumatel's prepaid uncapped fibre product, purpose-built for township and emerging-market households. You buy daily, weekly or monthly bundles - no contract, no credit check, no debit order. Available across most of Soweto.

    Yes, by a significant margin. LTE is capped and charged per gigabyte. Vuma Reach gives you an uncapped line from R275 - and uncapped means the heavy-streaming month costs the same as the quiet one, which is the real saving.

    Not for Vuma Reach prepaid - no credit check, no debit order, just buy a bundle. For contract Vumatel or Openserve via Webafrica or Afrihost, a basic affordability check applies.

    Standard Vuma Reach installation is free in covered areas, which is the main reason it suits a household connecting for the first time. On contract products it depends on the ISP: many include standard installation, and most Webafrica packages carry a stated R249 once-off processing fee on top. The table above shows the published once-off per package where the operator states one; where none is published we leave it blank rather than assuming it is free.

    Vuma Reach runs at 10-100 Mbps depending on the bundle - the entry tiers are more than enough for HD streaming, video calls and online schooling. Contract Vumatel scales right up to 1 Gbps where the line supports it.

    Fibre in other cities: Johannesburg · Cape Town · Pretoria · Durban · Sandton

    Get fibre at your Soweto address

    Compare every live Soweto deal above. Vuma Reach prepaid uncapped from R275 - no contract, no credit check, no debit order.

    Or see every prepaid and no-contract option in the cheapest fibre deals table

    Disclaimer: FastestFibre.co.za is an independent comparison and information service. We do not own any fibre network, and we do not sell internet packages directly. Pricing, speeds and availability shown on this site are indicative and may change without notice; final pricing, terms and contractual obligations are set by the individual ISPs and fibre network operators.

    Some outbound links on this site are affiliate links. If you sign up via one of these links we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects which packages we review, recommend or rank. Reviews and editorial content are written independently. For corrections or feedback, contact us via the social channels above.

    © 2026 FastestFibre.co.za - All rights reserved.
    Soweto fibre from R275 - no contractSee deals